2018 Johnson Creek High School Scholarship Recipients

Scholarships were awarded to Johnson Creek High School seniors at the annual awards program on Wednesday afternoon, May 30th.

Heading the list of local scholarships, five Max Albertz Scholarships for $7,000 each were awarded. The recipients were Tristan Christensen, Michael Hillson, Owen Hombsch, Mackenzie Seeber, and Madeline Wenzel. Throughout high school, each student has made positive contributions to the school and community. Best wishes to each student as they continue their education.



TJ with Mrs. Zabel

Tristan (TJ) participated in Cross Country, Track and Field, the School Musical, Forensics, and FBLA throughout high school. He is the recipient of multiple awards and honors in each of these activities. In addition, TJ demonstrated leadership skills while holding leadership positions in National Honors Society and Student Government. He has spent numerous hours outside of school volunteering his time at the Johnson Creek Historical Society as a Curator. TJ has enlisted with the Wisconsin Army  National Guard where he will continue to develop leadership skills and give back to the community.






Mr. Kyle Collins and Michael HillsonMichael was a member of the Cross Country and Track and Field teams during high school. He was very involved in the music program with experience in Band, Choir, Honors Choir, Honors Band, Solo & Ensemble for Band, Jazz Band, Pep Band, and roles in the school musicals. In addition, he participated in Spanish Club, Forensics, Math Club, National Honors Society, and Student Council. He will continue his education at University Wisconsin – Madison and plans to major in Astrophysics.





Mr. Chad Hayes and Owen Hombsch

Owen played basketball and baseball all four years of high school. He was a team leader and earned awards and honors for his dedication. Owen was also a leader in the music program. He participated in Jazz Band, Pep Band, and Solo & Ensemble for band during high school. Owen participated in FFA, National Honor Society, Art Club, Student Council, Student Government, and the Academic Bowl throughout high school. The athletic department appreciated his service as the Bluejay Mascot during 9th and 10th grades and this year with his contribution as the Letters Club Treasurer. Owen spends a lot of time outside of school volunteering with 4H and St. Vincent De Paul. Owen signed with the Air Force National Guard and then plans to attend Marquette University in the Engineering field. Owen was also awarded the Elk’s Most Valuable Student Scholarship ($300), Red Cross Scholarship ($250), Pere Marquette scholarship ($60,000), Comfort Systems USA scholarship ($10,000) and he is the recipient of the Academic Excellence Scholarship ($9,000).


Mr. Sam Hernandez and Mackenzie SeeberMackenzie was involved in activities throughout high school, holding many leadership positions: basketball, baseball (manager), Art Club, Spanish Club, FBLA, Forensics, National Honors Society, Student Council, Student Government and Academic Bowl. Outside of school, Mackenzie dedicated her time to helping others at the Watertown Senior Center Dining and at the YMCA for Bethesda Night to Shine events. Next year, Mackenzie will attend Lakeland University with the career goal of Correctional Officer and Re-entry Specialist. Mackenzie also received the Lakeland University College of Science, Technology, and Education Semi-Finalist Scholarship ($56,000) and the Arthur Albertz Scholarship ($500).




Ms. Erica Hegi and Madeline WenzelMadeline was a leader and role model in a multitude of activities throughout high school: Volleyball, Basketball, Solo & Ensemble for Band and Choir, Jazz Band, Honors Band, Pep Band, Spanish Club, National Honors Society, and Student Council. This year she shined in the School Musical as she took her talents to the stage. Madeline has given back to the community by volunteering her expertise in volleyball and basketball each year at summer camp. She will continue her love her music at Carroll College with a major in Music Therapy. She also received the Blood Center Scholarship ($250) and the Johnson Creek Booster Club Scholarship ($500).




Additional Scholarships:

  • Emily Benner – Red Cross Scholarship ($250)
  • Madyson Heald – Technical Excellence Scholarship ($4,500)
  • Abigail Hintz – Jefferson County Masonic Lodge Scholarship ($750), Johnson Creek Booster
    Club Scholarship ($500), and the Johnson Creek Area Chamber of Commerce Scholarship
  • Tucker Roehl – Performance Wrestling Club Scholarship ($500)
  • Jeremy Wagie – Watertown Regional Medical Center Health Career Scholarship ($1000) and
    the Arthur Albertz Scholarship ($500)

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *